What’s It Like… to experience CART/Live Event Captioning for the very first time?

April 13, 2016 Comments Off on What’s It Like… to experience CART/Live Event Captioning for the very first time?

WONDERFUL to see this again on social media today. Thanks Michele. LS, CCACaptioning.org and the interview she refers to is here – http://www.saywhatclub.com/newsletter/jan2011/interview.html

Smiling – because we’ve come a long way! and continue with the same mission and group culture online. Readers – join the CCAC today! http://CCACaptioning.org/join/

SayWhatClub

This article originally appeared in the SayWhatClub Newsletter,  Online Voices, in January of 2011

Michele Linder
Copyright 2011

Like a Virgin: CART for the very first time

cart_image1

When Pearl asked me to do an interview with Lauren Storck, of CCAC (Collaborative for Communication Access via Captioning), for Online Voices, I felt a bit inadequate and lacking in both experience with, and knowledge of, certain aspects of the subject, but since I’m on the “Do-it-Anyway” Tour–I’ve purposed to think less and do more with regard to volunteering my time in 2011–I immediately responded, “Sure!”

I’m no expert on subject of captioning, though it is not completely foreign to me. I’ve used closed captioning, exclusively, on my television for well over a decade now, and I’ve also dabbled with relay service. I own and use a CapTel 800i telephone, occasionally access CapTel via my mobile phone and on the…

View original post 1,329 more words

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s It Like… to experience CART/Live Event Captioning for the very first time? at CCAC Blog.

meta

